Thursday, January 19, 2017

Roll Tigers

Kevin Dougherty, Jay MacDowell
Staff Writers

The third annual college football playoff kicked off on New Year's Eve as millions of spectators’ eyes glued to the biggest stage in college football. After a long, hard fought season filled with controversy, heartbreak, and triumph, the stage was set and ready for a champion.
 The first game of the night featured reigning champion and top seeded Alabama versus the controversial fourth seed Washington. Many believe that Washington shouldn’t have been in the playoff due to a weak schedule. Penn State was a team, hotter than any in college football, that could’ve been considered for this fourth spot in the playoff after beating the dominant Ohio State, winning 9 straight, and fighting their way into the Big Ten championship, ultimately winning arguably the best conference in football. But it was Washington, who gave Alabama their best, losing to the Tide 24-7, sealing Alabama’s second straight appearance in the championship. Next up came the highly anticipated matchup between the Ohio State Buckeyes and the Clemson Tigers. This game couldn’t have gone more awry. Clemson made a statement. Clemson said bring on Alabama. Clemson won 31-0. Ohio State became the only team in the 2016 bowl season to not score a single point in a bowl game.
 The championship matchup was set. For the second straight year, the stadium of the championship game featured seas of Orange and Crimson, as Clemson and Alabama took the field at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. Although it appeared that Alabama was in control the whole for the entire game, the Tigers roared back and scored a game winning touchdown with one second left on the clock, a pass from Heisman Trophy runner-up Deshaun Watson to walk-on receiver Hunter Renfrow, leaving Alabama utterly shocked, and crowning Clemson as the 2016-2017 national champions.

No comments:

Post a Comment